It’s Christmas Time Again

Have you ever thought about Christmas and how it might be for someone who is single? Have you ever thought about the holidays for people who are single and family does not live near? Have you ever thought about the person whose experience may not be the greatest during the holidays? If you have, then you have thought about a person like me.

I’ve been alone for 13 years now. Not a day goes by when I don’t think of my late husband. I remember Christmas’s together with the kids, going to church, and out to dinner on Christmas eve and then opening one present (always jammies) that evening. We had Christmas mornings with our neighbors (coffee cake and orange juice) and watched funny family videos. We had a nice dinner later and least we forget opening gifts on Christmas morning. That was a wonderful time in my life, and now it’s all changed.

Yes, it has changed, but that does not mean I’m unhappy about it. I still love Christmas. I love the lights, music, and the gift of friendships I have here in Phoenix. I decorate my house with all of my Santas (35 of them at last count). I don’t put up a tree usually, but instead I have a couple of large ceramic trees with lights that I have that I love. I figured out I don’t need to be surrounded by people to be happy and content. I keep it quiet during the holidays. I usually attend a couple of parties and it’s all good. I go to the mall to shop and put up with the crazy crowds and shop for my grands. I love shopping for them. I love getting them something they actually want (I request a list from each of them) and shopping for the youngest is so much fun.

My life drastically changed 13 years ago, but that change did not change my love for Christmas and all that this holiday has to offer me. I’m thankful~

Just me going along at mypace.

Leave a comment