Back in School

I’m finishing up my first quarter of Graduate studies. YES, you read that right. I’m working towards a Masters in English and Creative writing. Why? Well why not? The old man wanted me to work on my PhD, but that would be in Education and that just isn’t where my heart lies anymore. So English and Creative Writing is what I’m working on.

This first quarter has been fun, irritating, fun, frustrating, fun, and a lot of work. BUT I’m having fun. Supposedly this program is difficult, well that’s what I’ver been told. Although I don’t find it to be all that difficult. I do get a little miffed with feminist criticism and I have to laugh at how some student’s fall into that one. I just love it when they write about how this male author wrote the female characters as flawed etc etc….Well hell, then don’t read that crap! OH and how in the Victorian era sexuality was not discussed at all. I hate to tell them, but sexuality wasn’t even on the radar until about the 1960s when the whole free love movement hit the country. Now, that’s not the case. Some of these student’s weren’t even born in 1971 when so much changed with film. 1971 and prior families can sit down and watch just about any film produced. It was after 1971 when films began to change, and now we have “Shades of Gray” on film. AND no I haven’t read it, nor have I seen the film.

Well I need to get back to my papers that are due Sunday at 8:59pm (11pm on the East Coast)

10408735_776352595767218_3418974251466514254_n

My books and stuff for my classes this quarter.

Leave a Reply

