You’ve Got Mail

Remember the movie way back when life was so much simpler for most of us? Remember watching the movie and listening to the computer connect to the Internet….buuzzzzz beeeeeepppp click click and CONNECTION.

You’ve Got Mail is one of my favorite movies. This movie resonates with me for a couple of reasons. First of all I love the scene where Kathleen Kelly is decorating her Christmas tree and talking about missing her mother. Every time I watch that scene I always think about my Mom and how much I miss her. My Mom died 26 years ago 2 days before my 30th Birthday. Yea it was a crappy birthday, but it’s been so long I barely remember what happened on my birthday. But I remember missing my mom. After she died I was mad at myself for not getting so many recipes written down. I always thought I’d have more time, but that ended on Dec 8th 1988.

The second thing that resonates with me in the movie is how much Kathleen Kelly loves books. She truly was in the book business. Now I can’t profess to own a bookstore but I do have a lot of books, to many in fact. I love the scene in Fox Books where Kathleen Kelly tells the sales associate about the Shoe Books….CLASSIC!! Here is this idiot sales associate that knows nothing of children’s books and can’t answer the woman’s question about getting her daughter the Shoe Books. I’ve never seen a copy of Nora Streapfeild’s books, until I was in London back in June. Here I was in a book store in another country and low and behold he’s a copy of “The Ballet Shoes”. Well of course I bought it and gave it to my granddaughter Madelyn.

The third aspect that resonates to me in You’ve Got Mail is the final scene where Kathleen Kelly meets Joe Fox in the park. This may sound silly, but over in Portland Oregon there is a park called The Rose Garden, and it’s one of my favorite places in Portland. Robb and I used to go there and we’d walk through all of the different roses and smell the ones we liked. As we walked we would hold hands as we crossed over the short cut grass. I haven’t been back to the Rose Garden in over 8 years, and somehow I just can’t go there without Robb.

I do believe “You’ve Got Mail” will always be one of my favorite movies of all time. At times it’s not easy to watch but then again a lot of movies are hard to watch for various reasons.

Leave a Reply

