Book Find

I was out in the garage earlier today and I came across a book that I didn’t remember I had, and I have no idea where I bought it or if someone gave it to me. It’s called “Lessons My Sled Dog Taught Me” Collected by Tricia Brown. Basically its humor and heartwarming tails from Alaska’s Mushers.

Now we all know what a Musher is, right? A Musher is a person who mushes. (YES I know I’m funny) Anyway, a Musher is a man or woman who used dogs to pull a sled on snow and ice. It’s a sport, but there are communities in Alaska where dog sleds are a common means of transportation. If you don’t believe me then you need to watch the National Geographic Channel or Discovery channel and learn about life in Alaska.

Some of the sayings in this book speak to me. This is one of my favorites, You can never waste time sitting still and cuddling a puppy. That time comes back to you later in affection from the dog and its willingness to run for you. Deedee Jonrowe wrote that one. I really like it. I love puppies to begin with, but I also know that caring for a puppy is the beginning of the bonding that we can experience with out dogs.

Another one of my favorites is by Ken Chase, and he wrote The dogs have taught me to enjoy the outdoors. That is so true for me as well. When I take Brodie to the dog park, I love having the opportunity to walk around the park on the path while Brodie takes off running and chasing butterflies. I love it there.

I wish I could remember where I got this book. It’s not a big book, but its huge with the wisdom written on each page.

Leave a Reply

