Gun Control: My thoughts

I know many people believe that if we ban guns or enforce tighter gun laws that tragedies like what happened at Sandy Hook Elementary School will end. I hate to be the one to tell you, but it won’t happen. Evil men will always be on this planet and will always target innocents to “make a name” for themselves. People who go about shooting others are mentally unstable. Normal people don’t go around killing other people. It’s obvious to me that the person who shot all of those children was not right in the head! Something was terribly wrong with him. And I have to ask, why did his mother have handguns in her home? He, from what I understand, was living there, so for her to have guns in the home was basically stupid.

Now President Obama is saying this type of tragedy must end now. Well, I agree, but gun control really isn’t the answer. All gun control will actually do is take away gun rights to responsible gun owners. I know a ton of people who own a gun and are knowledgable on how to handle their gun safely. I, myself, want a gun for personal protection, but I also know that I don’t know anything about owning a gun. I know I need to take classes on how to handle a gun and all of the laws associated with guns. And no matter how many laws, bans, etc will stop someone from getting a gun who wants one. At that point then the only folks who have a gun will be the bad guy and whose to say that shooting up a school won’t happen again?

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but evil will always exist in this world and as long as we ignore God it will continue to happen a lot more in the future. The guys who shot up the movie theater, Clackamas Town Center mall, and Sand Hook Elementary school are all evil men. It doesn’t matter to me that they had a type of mental illness. Those men went and purposely killed dozens of people for no apparent and/or good reason at all.

I’m not sure what the answer is to this, but gun control doesn’t look like it will solve this issue. I”m not against all guns being registered, but I don’t know if that will help overall with crazy people shooting people. All I know is that if you take guns away from citizens, only the bad guys will have them and that can’t be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

