Living

Today I went to a memorial for a young man who died from complications from Diabetes. Zach was 28 years old and a Veteran. He served in Iraq in 2004, at the same time as my Robb. It’s so sad when a person you love dies, especially when they are so young and have so much to give to the world. One thing about Zach I learned today is that he had a passion for life and caring for others. I believe he learned that during his younger years in Sunday School, but that’s just my opinion. 

In a lot of ways Zach was a lot like Robb. They both loved kids. They both had a passion for their fellow man (as in men and women), and both of them loved their family with everything they had. YEP, both of them had a lot in common. Then they both served in Iraq in 2004. I wonder if they were ever close to each other, I probably will never find out, but it’s still interesting to think about. 

I know Zach’s parents are going to grieve his loss for a long time, and no I don’t think it will ever end. When your child dies your life changes in ways that many of you will never understand. I know my Grandmother grieved for the loss of Uncle Chuck in WWll. I always felt a little cheated out of an Uncle, but that’s besides the point.

One thing I hope Zach’s will always remember their boy with love and joy. It’s not as easy as it sounds, I know this, but I believe because Zach was such a loving caring man, they will be able to do this.

Leave a Reply

