Olympics and Women

OK, so I know the Olympics are over, but it’s taken some time to get my thoughts together on this. 

Loved watching what I did watch, and I must admit I was surprised at some of the participants. Saudi Arabia allowed it’s first woman to compete which is a huge milestone for that country. She competed in Track and Field, which I thought was odd because there are other sports where women can compete and continue to be covered up. 

What about Fencing? I mean when you fence you are really covered up, and I think the Saudi’s could probably do very well with fencing. And equestrian events is another field where they can compete. I always thought that the Saudi’s were really into horses and had some of the best horses on the planet, so it just makes sense to me that they would compete in equestrian events. 

Why aren’t they competing in target shooting or archery. I mean these are a couple of the Olympic events that don’t require the athletes to be half naked. I really hope in the future more Islamic countries begin training their women for Olympic sports. I think they would be surprised to discover exactly what women can do in sports and still be a woman of Islam.

Leave a Reply

