A Death View

I know, odd title, but it’s something I want to talk about. Here in America we view death in odd ways. It’s common to say to someone who has experienced a death in the family, “I’m sorry for your loss.” But what does that really mean? For me it just doesn’t make any sense at all. If you lose something, then it is implied that you will find what ever you have lost. However, with a death, you won’t “find” that person that has died. So why use the word “loss”?

I’m thinking maybe it makes a death easier to experience by saying words like loss, passed away, and gone to the other side etc. For me, these words are just that words, and these words do not express what has happened in my life with my husband and my son. They died. As harsh and horrid as it sounds it is the truth. I didn’t lose either one of them. If I did, I would find them but I know I won’t find them anywhere. Robb is buried at Willamette National Cemetery, and Dylan is in my living room in a wood urn that I picked out for the purpose of holding his ashes.

Don’t get me wrong, I know where they are, well their souls at least, both of my guys reside in Heaven now. You may not believe in Heaven, but I do so as far as I’m concerned that’s where they are.

Leave a Reply

