Watching a Movie

Most people go to the movie theater and watch a movie, well I’m not most people. Tonight I ordered and paid for 50/50 onDemand. Now I don’t do this often and after watching it I’m not sure why I did it tonight. Don’t get me wrong it was a good movie. A little sad in parts, but hey life is sad in parts, right? What got me was I found myself with tears in my eyes while I was watching this movie. I think it was the part where the lead guy, Adam, totally felt helpless and lost hope in getting better.

I can in a way relate to how Adam felt. Not that I’ve had cancer but I’ve felt hopeless and that feeling sucks. Feeling hopeless is just about the worst feeling in the world. No matter what anyone says, you just don’t see any light at the end of the tunnel. For you, there is no hope left on the planet and that is about as bad as it can get. (this is my opinion OK) I remember feeling that way not so long ago, and watching this movie brought the idea of that feeling back. It’s hard to even imagine what it’s like to feel like that, and they guy who played Adam did a great job of portraying that emotion.

Now, after 5+ years, I can honestly say that I don’t feel hopeless anymore. I remember feeling that way and I’m so thankful that feeling has passed. I will admit that life isn’t all rosy and pretty, but it’s a heck of a lot better than hopeless and for that I’m totally thankful!!

One thought on “Watching a Movie

  1. It’s so exciting to hear that you don’t feel hopeless any more. Any advice for getting through the experience of recovery faster? Or does it just take the time it takes? So many people would love to know.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

