Stairway to Heaven

A Stairway on the Isle of Rhodes

Stairway to Heaven

This picture was taken in a village on the isle of Rhodes. I went there back in 2009 on a cruise and I then went on a tour of Rhodes. This village was what most of American’s think of when they think of a Greek village. Every building was white, blue roofs, and the streets were basically passageways where people walked from home to shop etc. I didn’t see one car in this village, but I did see mopeds. This stairway amazed me because I watched an elderly woman walk up those stairs with 2 bags filled with what I assumed was produce. I was totally amazed how quickly this woman maneuvered up the stairs, like she was still a kid. Well she didn’t move that fast but fast enough. She seemed to be in good health and I suspect it is because being Greek, she ate a typical Greek diet which is far healthier than what we (American’s) consume.
As I walked around this village I kept thinking how cool it would be to live here for awhile. I wouldn’t want to spend the rest of my life there, but it would be interesting to live in a place like that for 6 months to a year. It’s not an easy thing to live in another country by yourself, but I would be willing to give it another shot on the Isle of Rhodes.

One thought on “Stairway to Heaven

  1. Rhodos (as they call it) is a favorite place of mine. I love the atmosphere, the lifestyle, the beautiful artwork and handmade crafts…I bought some beautiful lace and embroidery work there which reminds me it’s time to pull it out and adore it on something. Thanks for the reminder.

    Take a gander at Gerald Durrell’s books on his life in Greece with his family such as “My Family and Other Animals” and you will be taken back to Greece without leaving your arm chair. 😀

Leave a Reply

